Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Hester Scholarship

The goal of The Julian & Jan Hester Memorial Scholarship is to assist deserving high school seniors in their first year of college and to promote community banking.

The scholarship is named after long-time CBA Chief Executive Officer, the late Julian Hester and his late daughter, Jan Hester.  Jan was a senior at the University of Georgia when she died in an auto accident on April 15, 1990. In addition to supporting community banking, this scholarship is an opportunity to pass on the positive qualities both Julian and Jan Hester exemplified to further the development of tomorrow’s generations.

  1. Open to Georgia high school seniors who will be entering a Georgia university, college, or technical college (if program is two or more years) in the fall quarter of 2014. Scholarship funds will be awarded to another student if program is not started in that quarter.

  2. Requirements
a) Complete Application
b) Complete Activity Record
c) Complete Essay
d) Complete Qualifications (1 Page Completed by a Teacher)
e) Complete High School Transcript (and SAT and/or ACT Scores if Available)
  1. Awards are based on academic merit, not financial need.

  2. At least four (4) $1,000 scholarships funded by the Community Bankers Association of Georgia
    (CBA) and its membership will be awarded.

  3. Scholarship funds are paid by the CBA directly to the college, university or technical institute
    to an account in the student’s name to be applied toward tuition, books and expenses.

  4. The CBA recommends that a local community bank also award a scholarship to their individual
    applicant; however, the bank is not required to do this.

  5. All winning or selected applicants from each community bank will be forwarded to the CBA
    office for review and will be presented to the Julian & Jan Hester Memorial Scholarship

  6. The Committee will make a final choice of at least four (4) applicants chosen to receive the
    scholarships. A notice of the applicants chosen will be mailed to the sponsoring community
    bank president. The four (4) award recipients will be notified by the CBA and the sponsoring
  7. Any award not utilized may, at the Committee’s discretion, be used to increase the number of
    awards for the next year, or the scholarship may be awarded to one of the semi-finalists.

 Click here to download application.


STUDENT TO BANK: Friday, April 4, 2014

BANK TO CBA OFFICE: Friday, April 11, 2014

Search Banks by Bank Name

Search Banks by City

Search Banks by Zip

Congratulations to the 2013 
Julian & Jan Hester Memorial Scholarship Winners!

Morgan Todd
Sponsored by: 
Waycross Bank & Trust,
G.C. Ganas, President

McKinlie Ramsey
Sponsored by: 
Bank of Madison
Charles H. Haney, III, President

Jerry Lin
Sponsored by: 
Hamilton State Bank, Hoschton
Bob Oliver, CEO/Chairman

Jebb Ricketts
Sponsored by: 
Cherokee Bank, Canton
Dennis Burnette, President

Click here to read the winning essays.

Community Search
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?