Neil Stevens, Oconee State Bank, Watkinsville Elected as Chair of Community Bankers Association of

Neil Stevens, President & CEO, Oconee State Bank, Watkinsville, was elected Chairman of the Board of Directors of Community Bankers Association of Georgia (CBA). Nominations for the 2023-24 CBA Board of Directors were announced and approved at CBA’s Annual convention held June 7 – 11, 2023 at The Charleston Place in Charleston, SC. His term began June 8, 2023.

 “The CBA Board of Directors consists of some of the most well respected and dedicated community bankers in the state,’ stated John McNair, President & CEO, Community Bankers Association of Georgia. “As a result of the Board’s collective commitment to CBA, the association is now widely recognized as a leading organization both in state and nationally. I am excited to welcome the new members to the Board and looking forward to executing the Board’s strategy and vision to best serve the community banks in Georgia and the southeast region.”   

Board members are selected from two divisions across the state of Georgia, ensuring all Georgia community banks are equally represented. Board members are elected to a one-year term. During the year, directors will be involved in several items on behalf of the CBA membership, such as responding to proposed rules and regulations from the various regulatory agencies, reviewing services which will benefit the community banking industry, and weighing in on proposed legislation.